Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?
For state Title and License Information, refer to:
Kansas Division of Vehicles
Docking State Office Building
Topeka, Kansas 66626-0001
Telephone: (913) 296-3621
Fee for search of records is $1.50.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) in effect. Liens on motor vehicle must be on title.
Kansas cure law in effect, all others per contractual agreement. As per the UCC, repossession is allowed and permitted as long as it is peaceful, after a 20 day “Right to Cure” letter from lienholder to debtor. (Applicable only once during the term of security agreement.) Not applicable to any “substantial impairment” such as lack of insurance, etc.
Ten day redemption.
Judgment notes are invalid but deficiency is permitted if lien instrument so provides.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Documents Required to Transfer Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Title reduced to lienholder’s name — or will accept lien signed off; copy of contract; odometer statement; and notarized Bill of Sale.
Documents Required for Liquidation:
No out of state repossession affidavits are accepted. Repossession affidavit may accompany Kansas title and an application for title together with a certified copy of the Security Agreement to the vehicle.
Remain with the owner / debtor.
QuickRepo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws listed on QuickRepo.com are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession service there. All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002.