Where do I refer to for Title or
For state Title and License Information,
Alaska Division of Motor
2150 E. Dowling Road
Anchorage, Alaska, 99507
Fees for search of
records is $2.00.
title held by lienholder.
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) in effect.
Liens on motor vehicle must be on
As per the UCC, repossession is
allowed and permitted as long as it
Within 10 days after retaking. If
customer had paid 50% of purchase
price or $500.00, a public sale is
required. If less than 50% or
$500.00, private sale is permitted.
Suit for balance does not bar
retaking and deficiency is
collectible. Confession of judgment
notes are valid.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Lien must appear on title to be
effective as to third parties.
Documents Required to Transfer
Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Title in debtor's name or lienholder
with certified copy of lien
instrument. Certificate of
registration. Registration fee is
Documents Required for
affidavit, certified copy of
contract, bill of sale.
Remain with the
vehicle. (Except for personalized
All recovery requirements and fees are
current as of 2002.
Quick-Repo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws
listed on Quick-Repo.com are
only a starting point for reference,
and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or
state if you have any questions
about repossession service there.
repo laws at
repossession laws at
for Repo Companies in Alaska