Where do I refer to for Title or
For state Title and License Information,
Iowa Office of Vehicle Registration
P.O. Box 9278
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9278
Telephone: (515) 237-3055
Fee for search of records is $0.50
title held by lienholder.
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)
adopted in July, 1966: with Recorder
of Deeds of county where buyer
resides: if non-resident, in any
county where property is located.
As per the UCC, repossession is
allowed and permitted as long as it
is peaceful, and it is after a
Twenty Day Right To Cure Letter from
lienholder to debtor.
May be made prior to resale or
contract to resell.
Permitted after sale.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Security interest noted on the
certificate of title. Title
certificates issued by the County
Treasurer of owner's county of
residence and retained by secured
party until satisfied.
Documents Required to Transfer
Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Iowa title certification and
affidavit of foreclosure of security
interest. All other titles must be
reduced to lienholder's name.
Documents Required for
Title, Affidavit of Repossession. Do
not release lien on title.
Remain with the owner if another
vehicle is purchased within 30 days,
the plates can be put on that
vehicle, provided the fees are paid
on the replacement vehicle. If a
replacement vehicle is not
purchased, plates must be turned
into the county treasurer.
All recovery requirements and fees are
current as of 2002.
Quick-Repo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws
listed on Quick-Repo.com are
only a starting point for reference,
and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or
state if you have any questions
about repossession service there.
repo laws at
repossession laws at
more about Quick-Repo.com