Where do I refer to for Title or
For state Title and License Information,
Kansas Division of Vehicles
Docking State Office Building
Topeka, Kansas 66626-0001
Telephone: (913) 296-3621
Fee for search of records is $1.50.
title held by lienholder.
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) in effect.
Liens on motor vehicle must be on
Kansas cure law in effect, all
others per contractual agreement.
As per the UCC, repossession is
allowed and permitted as long as it
is peaceful, after a 20 day "Right
to Cure" letter from lienholder to
debtor. (Applicable only once during
the term of security agreement.) Not
applicable to any "substantial
impairment" such as lack of
Ten day redemption.
Judgment notes are invalid but
deficiency is permitted if lien
instrument so provides.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Documents Required to Transfer
Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Title reduced to lienholder's name
-- or will accept lien signed off;
copy of contract; odometer
statement; and notarized Bill of
Documents Required for
No out of state repossession
affidavits are accepted.
Repossession affidavit may accompany
Kansas title and an application for
title together with a certified copy
of the Security Agreement to the
Remain with the
owner / debtor.
All recovery requirements and fees are
current as of 2002.
Quick-Repo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws
listed on Quick-Repo.com are
only a starting point for reference,
and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or
state if you have any questions
about repossession service there.
repo laws at
repossession laws at
more about Quick-Repo.com