North Dakota Repossession Laws
Where do I refer to for Title or
For state Title and License Information,
North Dakota Motor Vehicle
608 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Telephone: (701) 328-2725
Fee for search of records is $3.00.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)
adopted in July, 1966: Filed in the
office of the Registrar of Deeds in
the county where property is
situated. All liens must appear on
As per the UCC, repossession is
allowed and permitted as long as it
Permitted within 5-15 days after
recovery (Check Uniform Commercial
Code for details).
Retaking bars suit for price and
vice-versa; under conditional sale
contract, no provisions. Confession
of judgment notes are invalid.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Documents Required to Transfer
Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Affidavit of repossession on
approved form, certificate of title
signed off and notarized Bill of
Documents Required for
Title, Repossession Affidavit.
Remain with the
owner / debtor, and are
transferable (for a fee).
All recovery requirements and fees are
current as of 2002.
Quick-Repo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws
listed on Quick-Repo.com are
only a starting point for reference,
and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or
state if you have any questions
about repossession service there.
repo laws at
repossession laws at
Learn more about