Oregon Repossession Laws
Where do I refer to for Title or
For state Title and License Information,
Oregon Motor Vehicles Division
ATTN: Record Services
1905 Lana Avenue, N.E.
Salem, Oregon 97314
Telephone: (503) 945-5000
Fee for license or registration
information is $4.00.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
All motor vehicles (except boats)
are titled and all records kept with
the Motor Vehicle Department.
As per the UCC, repossession is
allowed and permitted as long as it
Creditor may demand loan balance
plus expenses. Ten day redemption
period for the balance is required.
Suit is permitted only if the loss
exceeds $2500.00 per party to the
security agreement. (i.e. husband &
wife increases loss requirement to
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Liens must be registered with the
Department of Motor Vehicles and
appear on the face of the
certificate of title.
Documents Required to Transfer
Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Lien released from title;
repossession affidavit; copy of
final demand letter and certified
mail receipt as proof of mailing;
Bill of Sale.
Documents Required for
Out of State Titles or Repossession
certificates are required. Oregon
titles require a repossession
certificate. To transfer title to a
repossessed vehicle, the documents
needed are: (1) The Original Title
endorsed by the lienholder; (2)
Notarized Affidavit of Repossession;
(3) A copy of the final demand
letter with its certified mail
Remain with the
vehicle (except custom license
plates, which remain with owner),
and are transferable.
All recovery requirements and fees are
current as of 2002.
Quick-Repo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws
listed on Quick-Repo.com are
only a starting point for reference,
and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or
state if you have any questions
about repossession service there.
Learn more about