South Carolina Repossession Laws
Where do I refer to for Title or
For state Title and License Information,
South Carolina Division of Motor
P.O. Box 1498
Columbia, South Carolina 29216
Telephone: (803) 251-2950
Fees for search of records is $0.50.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
Per the Uniform Commercial Code
adopted January, 1968: Must be filed
within 10 days in the county where
buyer or mortgagor resides; if
non-resident, where property is
located at time of execution of
instrument. The place of recording
in the office of the Registrar of
Mesne Conveyances; where such office
does not exist, with the Clerk of
As per the UCC, repossession is
allowed and permitted as long as it
is peaceful, after a Twenty Day
Right to Cure Letter from lienholder
Cure law in effect.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Liens must be recorded on face of
the title. (Exclusive method of
Documents Required to Transfer
Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Title and lien release; repossession
affidavit and notarized Power of
Documents Required for
Notarized bill of sale, title and
Remain with the owner / debtor.
All recovery requirements and fees are
current as of 2002.
Quick-Repo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws
listed on Quick-Repo.com are
only a starting point for reference,
and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or
state if you have any questions
about repossession service there.
repo laws at
repossession laws at
Learn more about