Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?
For state Title and License Information, refer to:
South Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 1498
Columbia, South Carolina 29216
Telephone: (803) 251-2950
Fees for search of records is $0.50.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
Per the Uniform Commercial Code adopted January, 1968: Must be filed within 10 days in the county where buyer or mortgagor resides; if non-resident, where property is located at time of execution of instrument. The place of recording in the office of the Registrar of Mesne Conveyances; where such office does not exist, with the Clerk of the Court.
As per the UCC, repossession is allowed and permitted as long as it is peaceful, after a Twenty Day Right to Cure Letter from lienholder to debtor.
Cure law in effect.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Liens must be recorded on face of the title. (Exclusive method of recording.)
Documents Required to Transfer Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Title and lien release; repossession affidavit and notarized Power of Attorney.
Documents Required for Liquidation:
Notarized bill of sale, title and repossession affidavit.
Remain with the owner / debtor.
QuickRepo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws listed on QuickRepo.com are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession service there. All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002.