Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?
For state Title and License Information, refer to:
Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles
2150 E. Dowling Road
Anchorage, Alaska, 99507
Telephone: (907) 269-5551.
Fees for search of records is $2.00.
Shown on title held by lienholder.
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) in effect. Liens on motor vehicle must be on title.
As per the UCC, repossession is allowed and permitted as long as it is peaceful.
Within 10 days after retaking. If customer had paid 50% of purchase price or $500.00, a public sale is required. If less than 50% or $500.00, private sale is permitted.
Suit for balance does not bar retaking and deficiency is collectible. Confession of judgment notes are valid.
Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:
Lien must appear on title to be effective as to third parties.
Documents Required to Transfer Ownership of Motor Vehicle:
Title in debtor’s name or lienholder with certified copy of lien instrument. Certificate of registration. Registration fee is $5.00.
Documents Required for Liquidation:
Repossession affidavit, certified copy of contract, bill of sale.
Remain with the vehicle. (Except for personalized plates.)
QuickRepo.com does not warrant the accuracy of these laws. The laws listed on QuickRepo.com are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession service there. All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002.